Department of Agricultural Economics

Did You Know...?

Our Department continues to contribute to teaching, research and Extension programs that have an impact not only in the state but beyond. A past impact is the Sales Tax Collections in Nonmetropolitan Communities. [read more]

Department News

Rural Economic Outlook Conference
Join us October 31 at the OSU Alumni Center, Stillwater, Oklahoma, for an excellent lineup of speakers discussing trends and expectations for the rural economy and agriculture. Michael Swanson, Wells Fargo Bank N.A. Ag Economist–Senior Vice President will present "Global Policies and Local Impacts: Why the Grain and Livestock Markets Are Not About Population and GDP. " Other speakers will address water, green glacier, Farm Bill, US and Oklahoma economic recovery, and other timely issues. An outlook panel will address grain, livestock and land markets. Registration is $50 before October 24 and $70 at the door, which includes the reception on Thursday evening, breakfast, lunch and all breaks. Get more information here, along with the registration brochure and online payment information.

2014 AAEA Fellow
B. Wade Brorsen, Regents Professor and A.J. & Susan Jacques Chair, has been named a 2014 Fellow of the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association (AAEA) at the 2014 AAEA Annual Meeting in July. Being recognized as an AAEA Fellow is our profession’s most prestigious honor, reserved for individuals with continuous contribution to the advancement of agricultural and applied economics. [read more].

Department Alumnus Appointed as Sallie Mae Chief Risk Officer
Mr. Jeffrey Dale received his bachelor’s, master’s and doctorate degrees in agricultural economics from Oklahoma State University. Dale was recently appointed as the chief risk officer of Sallie Mae, formally SLM Corporation. [read more].

2014 WAEA Award Recipients
At the 2014 Western Agricultural Economics Association Annual Meeting in Colorado Springs, CO, Dr. Francis Epplin was named a Distinguished Scholar, the highest honor WAEA awards. In addition, the Outstanding Extension Program Award for Project was given to "The Oklahoma Quality Beef Network Team," Drs. Eric DeVuyst, Damona Doye, Derrell Peel, Kellie Raper, Gant Mourer, David Lalman, Chris Richards, Megan Rolf, Daniel Stein, D.L Step and Justin Talley.

Faculty Promotions and Title Changes
The OSU Board of Regents approved promotions and title changes effective July 1. Dr. Francis Epplin was promoted to the honorary title of Regents Professor, Dr. Bailey Norwood was promoted to professor, Dr. David Shideler was promoted to associate professor with tenure, and Dr. Damona Doye's title changed to Regents Professor and Rainbolt chair in agricultural finance.

Truman Scholar
Chacey Schoeppel, junior agribusiness major from Fairview, Okla., was recently named a 2014 Truman Scholar.

CASNR Senior Awards
At the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources Scholarships and Awards Banquet, Ashton Mese, agricultural economics and agricultural communications double major from Kingfisher, Oklahoma, was named CASNR Outstanding Senior for 2014. She and Jacy Alsup, agribusiness major from Gravette, Arkansas, were named 2014 Seniors of Distinction.

OSU Seniors of Significance
Congratulations to Jacy Alsup and Ashton Mese for being named 2014 Outstanding Seniors by the OSU Alumni Association!

  • Jacy is an agribusiness major from Gravette, Ark.
  • Ashton is an agricultural economics and agricultural communications major from Kingfisher, Okla.

  • Recently Added Publications

    Filed under:


    Departmental Newsletter

    2014 Spring Newsletter

    Ag Econ Seminars

    2013 Fall Ag Econ Seminars

    Contact Information

    308 Agricultural Hall
    Oklahoma State University
    Stillwater, OK 74078
    Phone: 405.744.6161
    Fax: 405.744.8210